Board of directors

Executive directors

Andrew Horton (aged 48) was appointed chief executive on 1st September 2008. Previously he was finance director and he joined the board in June 2003. Prior to that, he was UK chief financial officer at ING and was deputy global chief financial officer and global head of finance for the equity markets division of ING Barings, having held various financial positions with ING Barings since January 1997. He qualified as a chartered accountant with Coopers and Lybrand in 1987.

Martin Bride (aged 47) is group finance director having joined Beazley in 2009. Martin has 25 years experience in the insurance industry with more than half of those as a Finance Director. He trained as a general insurance actuary before pursuing a career in the composite insurance sector with Aviva and Zurich Financial Services. His experience spans personal and commercial lines general insurance, the London Market, life insurance and asset management in both the UK and France.

Adrian Cox (aged 39) was appointed to the board on 6 December 2010 and heads up the specialty lines division. Prior to joining Beazley in June 2001, Adrian was at General Cologne Re for eight years. He began his career writing short tail facultative reinsurance before moving to the treaty department in 1997, where he wrote both short and long tail business, specialising in financial lines.

Nicholas Furlonge (aged 60) started his Lloyd's career in 1971. He co-founded Beazley Furlonge with Andrew Beazley in 1985. He is director of risk management and is also responsible for the group's brand and communications. He is a non-executive director of: Lloyd's franchise board, Lloyd's market association and chairman of the Lloyd's community programme.

Jonathan Gray (aged 57) is the head of the group’s property division. Jonathan has 34 years of experience at Lloyd’s, joining Beazley in 1992. He is an active underwriter in his area of expertise, open market commercial property risks.

Neil Maidment (aged 48) is the chairman of the group’s underwriting committee and has responsibility for the reinsurance division, political risks and contingency group and the accident and life division. Neil has 25 years of Lloyd’s experience. He joined Beazley in 1990 and is the active underwriter for the managed syndicates.

Clive Washbourn (aged 50) is the head of the group’s marine division. Clive has 24 years’ experience in the marine insurance industry and actively underwrites marine hull, marine liability and marine war risks. He is a member of the LMA Marine Committee, the LMA Underwriting and Claims Committee and is the chairman of the Joint War Committee.

Non-executive directors

Jonathan Agnew (aged 69) is the chairman of the company. Jonathan was formerly a managing director of Morgan Stanley and subsequently the chief executive of Kleinwort Benson. He has been the chairman of Limit plc, Gerrard Group plc, Nationwide Building Society and LMS Capital plc. He is currently chairman of Ashmore Global Opportunities Limited and The Cayenne Trust plc and is a senior independent director of Rightmove plc. He was a member of the Council of Lloyd’s and of Lloyd’s Market Board from 1995 to 1999.

George Blunden (aged 58) was appointed on 1 January 2010. He is currently chairman of Charity Bank and non-executive director of the investment advisory firm Meridian. He retired as senior vice president and director from AllianceBernstein Ltd in December 2009. He had previously been chief executive of Union plc and a director of SG Warburg Securities and Seccombe, Marshall and Campion plc.

Gordon Hamilton (aged 65) retired as a senior audit partner in Deloitte & Touche LLP after more than 30 years, principally involved with listed multi-national company audits and major forensic assignments. He is currently a non-executive director of a number of companies including the listed South African group, Barloworld Limited, and is a member of the Financial Reporting Review Panel (FRRP). 

Padraic O’Connor (aged 61) is Chairman of the Irish Stock Exchange and a non executive director of Rabobank, JP Morgan Bank Dublin Ltd and a number of other companies. He was Managing Director of NCB Group between 1991 and 1999 prior to which he was Chief Economist at the firm. Before joining NCB, Mr. O’Connor worked at the Department of Finance and the Central Bank of Ireland. He holds primary and postgraduate degrees in economics from University College Dublin.

Andy Pomfret (aged 50) was appointed chief executive of Rathbone Brothers Plc in 2004, having held the position of finance director since 1999. Prior to that, he held positions at Peat, Marwick, Mitchell & Co (now KPMG) and Kleinwort Benson.

Vincent Sheridan (aged 62) is currently a non-executive director of FBD Holdings Ltd, Mercer (Ireland) Limited and a number of other companies. He retired as Chief Executive of Vhi Healthcare in 2008 and prior to that was Group Chief Executive of the Norwich Union Insurance Group in Ireland for ten years from 1991 to 2001. He is a past president of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland and a former Director of the Irish Stock Exchange.

Ken Sroka (aged 57) was appointed to the board on 12 November 2010. He was formerly head of product development at Zurich Financial Services, retiring in 2008. During his fifteen years at Zurich Financial Services, he created and directed Zurich's financial lines business in North America and more recently he focused on the development of specialist products in North America as president and CEO of Zurich North American Specialties Division (products included environmental, excess liability, professional liability, political risk and accident & health). Prior to joining Zurich in 1993, Mr Sroka's career included roles at Chubb, AIG and USF&G.

Rolf Tolle (aged 63) was appointed to the board on 6 December 2010. He joined the board of Beazley Furlonge Ltd in June 2010. He retired as franchise performance director at Lloyd’s in December after seven years in the role, during which time he was widely credited for establishing a new and successful partnership between the Corporation of Lloyd’s and the market.  Prior to that, he served as chief underwriting officer of Faraday Group, General Re’s Lloyd’s insurance and reinsurance operation.